Awareness / Community / Lifestyle / Service

30 Acts of Starkey begins now

30actsofstarkeypromptsphotoHappy Valentine’s Day! Today kicks off the 30 Acts of Starkey. In case you missed my previous post about it, here is the details. In 30 days, I will celebrate my 30th birthday. Instead of partying like a rock star or doing something extra lavish, I decided to do what I love to do the most – give. Therefore, I am doing 30 random acts of kindness called the 30 Acts of Starkey. This is an opportunity to do what I enjoy doing the most serve the community and be a blessing to someone else.

The movement started without even realizing it. I was grocery shopping, and when I was leaving there was a lady sharing a handout about God’s work. I accepted it and bid her good day. Then, I went to another grocery store (I was bargain hunting for a recipe that I will share later) and a random man smiled and said, “Happy Valentine’s Day.”

Instead of giving him a weird face, I responded back in a polite manner and said, “Happy Valentine’s Day to you too.”

It was happening without even realizing it. I gave myself a pat on the back! 30 Acts of Starkey is in full effect, and I hope you will join the movement. If you are interested, I am sharing the prompts for you all to take part in the festivities.

I will not be doing these in any particular order, but they will be completed throughout the month. I will share my experience on the blog.

Here are the prompts:

Click to view the image or download the pdf version

– Post a 30 Acts of Starkey compliment tear off sheet in a random place
– Write a letter to people who has impacted your life
– Make treats for your co-workers
– Donate items to a community organization
– Let someone else go ahead of you in line
– Write a compassionate note on February 20 in honor of the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion movement
– Clean out your closet and donate clothes
– Offer to babysit
– Smile and say “Hi” to someone new
– Return your shopping cart to its original location
– Leave change in vending machine
– Pay for someone else’s drive-thru
– Leave a used book for someone to enjoy
– Renew an old friendship by sending a gift or writing a letter
– Write a compliment on your receipt at restaurant
– Recycle
– Write a letter to a child
– Shop local
– Acknowledge people as they walk in the room
– Pick up clothes in department store others dropped
– Hold the door for someone
– Write your boo a list of things you love about them
– Text someone good morning or good night
– Send a card to your pastor and family
– Call someone you haven’t spoken to in a while
– Donate your talents
– Leave change at laundry mat
– Read to a young child
– Add money in a parking meter
– Tweet and Facebook five people a genuine compliment

What are some other random acts of kindness ideas? If you are joining in on the #30ActsofStarkey, use the hashtag so that I can recognize the support. You can join the journey by following me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to view how I demonstrate my acts of kindness.

11 thoughts on “30 Acts of Starkey begins now

  1. Pingback: Mind Right Monday: Week 6 |

Leave a Reply

