Lifestyle

What’s on your plate?

zuppasoupGrowing up in the low country of South Carolina, I was taught that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. I wanted to be a great cook. I used to stand in my mom’s kitchen filled with curiosity about our next meal. I wanted to learn how she made everything from her collard greens to rice, sausage, and eggs (I know I’m not the only one who used to eat that.). However, when I ventured out on my own at college and started experimenting, I was disappointed because it never tastes as good as my mom’s. I had to realize that I can cook similar meals, but I needed to create my own twist to make it more Starkey.

I have my own personal favorite recipes to cook in the kitchen now. My absolute favorite meal for dinner is any kind of soup especially now since it is a little cold outside. During my college and early post college years, I would spend many weekends eating Olive Garden’s salads and pastas. However, more recently, I started eating their soups and fell in love with their Zuppa Toscana. If you haven’t tried it yet, then you are missing out on something amazing!

I normally cook my big meals on Sundays after church. I knew that I wanted a soup for dinner. I stumbled upon a healthy copycat recipe for the Zuppa Toscana soup. I wanted to use the basic information from the recipe that I found, but again with my own twist. I made enough soup to last for a few days. I used a mason jar and stored at least two servings of the soup and three other bowls in storage containers for lunch during the week. This soup was a definite win! Although, it’s not for dinner tonight, I will be making it again very soon.

Zuppa Toscana Soup (Kale, Potato, and Ground Turkey Soup)

Prep Time: 20 Minutes

Cook Time: 4 Hours

Total Time: 4 Hours and 20 Minutes

Serves: 5

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 pound of ground turkey

½ medium onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

2 teaspoons of Italian Seasoning (Mixture of combined Italian herbs)

10 small red potatoes, quartered, skin on

4 cups of reduced sodium chicken broth

2 cups of 2% milk

1 teaspoon sea salt

3 cups chopped kale

Instructions:

  1. Turn on crockpot to high before you start preparing your meal. You want the crockpot to be slightly warm once you start adding items to it.
  2. Heat olive oil in medium sauté pan and cook ground turkey until no longer pink. Be sure to break apart and crumble the meat while it’s cooking. Once it’s finished, place meat in the crockpot.
  3. Using the same oil from the ground turkey, add the onion and garlic to begin sautéing. Once the onion begins to cook a little, add the Italian Seasoning to it. Cook for 5 minutes or until they are completely coated with the Italian Seasoning. Add the onions and garlic into the crockpot with the ground turkey.
  4. Add potatoes, chicken broth, and milk. Stir until the chicken broth and milk are blended. Cook until potatoes are soft. This could take up to 3 hours total. Add salt to give the soup a little taste.
  5. Once the potatoes are tender, add the kale and cook for another 30 minutes to an hour. I had three quart size bags of kale in my freezer. I squeezed the bags to help chop the greens even more for the soup.
  6. Serve in your favorite soup bowl hot.

I was inspired by Organize Yourself Skinny’s Sausage, Kale and Potato Soup recipe.

What’s for dinner?

9 thoughts on “What’s on your plate?

Leave a Reply

