Journey / Lifestyle

New Year, New Vision Board: Take a look

I am excited about 2015, and the different opportunities that are coming my way. On January 2, I shared with you all my goals for the New Year. Today, I set aside some time to focus on creating my vision board.

Have you ever created a vision board? According to Make a Vision Board, “A vision board is a tool used to clarify, concentrate and maintain focus on a specific life goal” (www.makeavisionboard.com).

In 2013, I created my very first vision board. I made it using PowerPoint, but I didn’t print it out. I just kept it saved on my laptop. Surprisingly looking at it now, I accomplished some items on my board. The vision board that I created wasn’t an annual one like I created tonight, but an overall board of goals. For instance, I found a United Methodist Church to join and call my home church. I am also still blogging and volunteering. It also gives me an idea of areas that I need to work on to achieve my vision.

StarkeyVisionBoard

This is my first vision board!

However, my vision board for this year is goal specific. I love words! I found quotes and words that all inspire me to accomplish my goals. The key to a vision board is to place it in a location that you can see on a daily basis. I placed mine near my door on the wall beside my television in my bedroom. I watch television every day and I can look at my board at the same time. Take a look and tell me what you think!

2015 Vision Board

2015 Vision Board

What did you include in your vision board? How has it helped to keep you accountable of your goals?

19 thoughts on “New Year, New Vision Board: Take a look

  1. I love vision boards. Last year I was really excited that almost all the things on my board came to pass. I include prayers for my family and business and a few goals that I want to achieve during the year. #BLMGirls

    • Hey #BLMGirls,
      I think it’s pretty awesome that almost everything came to pass on your vision board. They are truly beneficial when setting goals, and I’m a visual learner so this is going to help keep me accountable.

  2. Nice! I believe in the power of vision boards. This will be my third year doing one. My approach this year, however, will be to put affirmations on my board and less pictures. I still want to visualize my success, but I also want to speak it into existence by repeating my own set of affirmations for my life. I’m excited abou it!

    • Wow! That’s so awesome! I love the idea of affirmations! My first vision board was more pictures and a small section with quotes. This year focused mainly on words and inspirational words! Good luck with your board!

  3. I have thought about making a vision board, but never have. I usually just write certain things down in the note section of my phone. Or I put up pictures as wall paper on all my electronics as a reminder. Maybe I will make one this year. Give me something to look at. You have some good words on yours! I hope you reach all your goals this year!

  4. I didn’t print my vision board out last year either. And after making it, i swear I didn’t look at it again! This year I plan on making on that I can post on the wall in my office and look at everyday!

    • Vision boards are so awesome! I am normally a notetaker as well, but I would write it down then never look back at it for the rest of the year. Good luck with your board!

  5. I haven’t completed my vision board for 2015 but my main focus for the year is my family, business and getting back to simple things that make me happy.

  6. On my vision board I added some affirmations…So I can look at it in the morning and say my affirmations…And watch my dreams come true :)…Nice post..Keep it up girl!
    Mlle Parker #BLMGirl

    • Thanks #BLMGirl! I love that idea! I found some great quotes from the Essence magazines that would make great affirmations! I may start doing that as well!

  7. Great post! I love creating vision boards and I honestly believe they work as long we we put action behind them. Making them visible is SUPER important as well. Last year I was very intentional about what I wanted to bring in my life, so I made a vision board and I created a goal list. This year I’ve only created a goal list and I’ve outlined the steps I need to take to make sure that I accomplish all of my goals in 2015. Wishing you a successful 2015!
    http://www.befreeproject.com

Leave a Reply

