Leadership / Lifestyle / Writers

I Can’t Believe It….I’ve been Nominated

What’s up PHREAdom Leaders! Within the last few years, I started truly embracing the power of networking especially via social media. Thanks to Bloggers Like Me, a female blogger group on Facebook, I’ve met fellow cool bloggers and learned some great information about the business of blogging. I stumbled upon an amazing opportunity of being nominated for the Liebster Award from Darrica of Reese and Coco! And drum rolls please…….She nominated me!!!! That’s pretty cool!

Now the Liebster Award is an award for new bloggers who have less than 200 followers to get to know each other and to help them connect. Of course, there are always rules for such a wonderful opportunity, and here they are:

  • Answer the 11 questions that the blogger that nominated you chose
  • Nominate 5-10 other bloggers and create 11 questions for them to answer
  • Have!

Here are the questions that fellow #BLMGirl Darrica asked me:

  1. What made you start blogging and how long have you been blogging?

a5e30-starkes13

I love writing! I realized that I didn’t want to write for a newspaper shortly after graduating college, but I still wanted to communicate with the masses. I stepped away from writing for a few years, but started back slowly. In 2012, I decided to start a blog after contemplating about the idea. My first blog post was called “Dear Graduate.”

  1. What is your favorite season and why?

My favorite season is fall! I used to love spring (in Summerville), but fall is so colorful. The weather is extra comfy! It’s not too hot or cold! It’s just right!

  1. If you could go back in time and change something what would you change?

I wish I gave 100% in college. I knew my potential, but after four years, I wasn’t as driven to achieve it.

  1. What is your idea of a great weekend?

My idea of a great weekend would involve three things – my boyfriend, my book – Daily Navigation (in the works now), and community service.

  1. Who is your favorite artist at the moment?

Chrisette Michelle — She is so amazing! Her new Web site Rich Hipster is awesome especially her live studio vlogs! I love BETTER!!!

  1. What’s the least favorite thing you like about yourself?

I can be very hard on myself. I try not, but I can be a tough critic.

  1. If you could go anywhere in the world for free where would you go?

Space Camp – It’s so much fun!

  1. What are your top three favorite blogs?

Girl Tyler, Vain Mommy, and Xklusive Thoughts

  1. Do you have any pets? If so, name them!

I don’t have any pets, but I want a Toy Poodle-Chihuahua mixed. That’s an interesting chi-poodle

10. What’s the best blog post you have written? Leave the link so we can check it out!

A special PHREAdom Leader, a profile of young leaders and innovators making a difference, Ashley Gonzalez. She was a victim of domestic violence. Her story was very empowering! Honestly, all of my PHREAdom Leaders are great, but that one was my favorite.

11. What is your must have beauty product?

My must have beauty product is between OPI polish and Finger Paints! I love nail polish!!!

Now, here are my nominees:

  1. Tyler Young – She is Tyler
  2. Raivon Lee— Vain Mommy
  3. Ashley Gary-Roper – Career Therapy
  4. Vogue – Simply Vogue
  5. Krystal Tarte – Eve Un-Yoked

Questions:

  1. What made you start blogging and how long have you been blogging?
  2. What does it mean to be a leader?
  3. What is one thing that you love about yourself?
  4. What is your favorite season and why?
  5. What is one thing nobody knows about you (of course, something you wouldn’t be embarrassed about sharing)?
  6. What is your favorite charity and why?
  7. If you had one million dollars and you had to spend it in 22 hours, how would you spend it?
  8. What is your idea of a great weekend?
  9. Do you believe you’ve found your dream career? If not, what do you want to be when you grow up?
  10. What is your best childhood memory?
  11. What book are you currently reading?

And I’m done! Nominees make sure you answer these questions on your blog and nominate 5-10 people to answer your set of 11 questions! Thanks again Darrica! This was tons of fun!

– Starkey

4 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe It….I’ve been Nominated

Leave a Reply

