Awareness / Community / Journey / PHREAdom Leader

PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with the Innovators

Today wraps up the installment of the PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later series. The last part of the series focus on the innovators. They are Alton Murray, Ashley Gonzalez and Miss Plus Size Charleston Alison Parson, which I’ve dubbed as my “Ambitious A-Leaders”.  I have thoroughly enjoyed this project, and reconnecting with my PHREAdom Leaders from the past. They all represent a part of Always PHREA. In case you missed the others, check out the Scholars and Entrepreneurs from last week. Stay tuned for the new PHREAdom Leader coming this week!!

PL- Alton Murray

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success was the planning and execution of the National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day event.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
Some of my biggest challenges was trying to coordinate vendors and get a speaker! Those challenges was overcame by the help of others and God just putting things in place.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
To be a leader means to be an outstanding follower. In order to lead, you must know what it takes to be a follower which means being humble, open, and above all compassionate.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Every leader should be able to relate to the people they are leading. They should be able to understand and do everything it takes to understand who they are leading or what they are leading.


 

PL- Ashley Gonzalez

1) What was your biggest success this year?
So far this year, I have been working on my confidence and inner peace with that I have started working out and making better food choices. I have lost about 25 lbs so far, and I have a goal to lose a few more pounds. Also at the end of last year, I started working for a new HMO Medicaid plan for South Carolina, that keeps me pretty busy. With this new company, I have met a lot of new people and made some new friends. They have been helping me to stay on track with my weight loss.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
Right now it is balancing working, school, gym time and home life. I am always busy, and I am trying to find the best way to manage my time wisely.  I have to remind myself that I am only one person, and can only do one thing at a time. I have been changing my schedule around to make sure I can accommodate everything.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
Being a leader means setting a great example and the willingness to help change somebody else’s life.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
The ability to take constructive criticism, to listen effectively and willingness to change and adapt to change.


PL- Alison Parson1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year was being crowned Miss Plus Size Charleston 2014.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge this year was preparing for this pageant. I wanted to make sure that I gave 100% when the curtains opened!
3) What does it mean to be a leader?
To me being a leader means that one has a sense of integrity and purpose, not only in their position but also in their life.
4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Confidence- Self-Confidence as a leadership quality is rather broad. But to me, a leader exudes and emanates empowerment, empathy, passion and vision. Self-confidence is at the crux of everything we do.
Leave a Reply

