Career / Entrepreneur / PHREAdom Leader

PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with the Entrepreneurs

Today’s PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later focus on young emerging entrepreneurs. The leaders featured are founders and creators of non-profit and for-profit organizations. They are Founder and Chief Executive Officer Garry Bailey, Founder of Authentic Reflections & Author of Evolution of Love  John Harris III, Author of Words for Warning Ashley Nash, Founder of Nitsua Creations Austin Smith, Co-Founder of TIME and Marketing Partner of NXL II Curtis Walls, and Founder & Executive Director of Endless Dreams Foundation, Inc. Brittany Yates.

 

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year would starting my career as an event planner with a large party of 150 people at one of Charlotte’s historic museums. It was an honor to thrown an elaborate event under my name and supervision. Also, being able to establish my brand and it growing so quickly, which is still in effect.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge is funding and how I was able to find something else that I love to assist me to finance my dreams. It was definitely hard to balance those things out, but I have a bright future ahead and looking forward to a very successful 2015.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
To be a leader is to be an example. You have to carry yourself in a way everyone will draw to you whether its by your smile, your attire, your values, and your choices in life. I also put others before me in so many ways. You make sound decisions that fits everyone’s desires and believing in other people’s dreams by recommending them to achieve their goals.

4) What is one quality every leader should possess? 
One quality a leader should possess is respect! You cannot get anywhere, be recommended, or anything without having respect for others or yourself. It will go a long way!

“Like” on Facebook at The Royal Occasion
Follow on Twitter @TROEvents


PL- John Harris

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success has been growing into independence as a brand, artist, educator and performer. I’ve been working 3 years to be able to teach and perform my philosophy and now I finally do.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge was definitely leading and transitioning out of the pilot program for Authentic Movements. It was sponsored by my parents who paid my rent, but I had to come up with the rest. I’ve always been a creative, but having to deal with this brought out my hustler instincts. We created a lot out of nothing. I overcame the challenge with the support of my homies in the movement as we all supported each other to grow our mission-based businesses from the bottom up, the whole point of the movement. And that makes me proud.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
It means to know your strengths and to use these strengths to enhance the capabilities of those around you in order to fulfill a vision. That’s what it means to be a leader in my world.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Every leader should know how to take themselves out of a situation and evaluate it for what it is. Also, a great leader must know his/her strengths and weaknesses as well as those on the team. The job of a leader is to encourage and place people in positions where they’re strengths will shine and their weaknesses seem obsolete.

“Like” on Facebook at Authentic Reflections
“Follow” Authentic Reflections on Twitter @AuthReflections
www.authenticreflection.org


 

PL- Ashley Nash

 

1) What was your biggest success this year?
I would have to say that graduating was my biggest success this year so far. Obstacles seemed to pop up at every turn and they almost kept me from graduating on time. Being persistent and staying determined helped me to stay in the fight to graduate on time.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge in life is being able to accept help. I am still working on it now but I am better. Growing up made me a very prideful person so it is a hard habit to break.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
To be a leader it means to put the needs of the group ahead of your own and help them to achieve success.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Great listening skills. A leader must hear all sides and then select the best path to go.


 

PL- Austin Smith

 

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success so far would be starting my new job. I serve as the Marketing Coordinator for the The Chambers Group, which is a commercial real estate company in Charlotte.
2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge was finding a new job. It was a process that not only tested my patience, but it also allowed me strengthen my faith and trust in God that He would work everything out. This entire process allowed me to appreciate and be thankful for everything I have, because it is truly a privilege that I’m grateful for.
3) What does it mean to be a leader?
To be a leader means to let your action speak louder than your words. Cliche at times, yet so true. Your actions and life should reflect the right things, and should influence others to want to follow as well.
4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Listening is one quality that every leader should have. Yes you can be in charge of others, however no one is perfect and we do not know everything. You have to be able to listen to new ideas, suggestions, and sometimes new methods that can help you become a better leader in order to serve others.

PL- Curtis Walls

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year was hosting the 1st Single Mother Empowerment Symposium at the Westin Hotel & Resort. We had 254 registered mothers and 37 resource partners/vendors! It was an amazing day!

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
The biggest challenge was “first impression.”  I feel as if everyone was excited, however, there were naturally those who wanted to see how the first year would go. Our challenge was to gain and foster the trust of mothers and their communities. We want to be known as the network connecting families (mothers) to the village.
We overcame it by delivering what we promised – access to tools and resources, as well as, a high quality experience beneficial to ALL mothers and their families.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
Being a leader means committing to serving the people you love. It requires selfless actions with sincere intent. It demands trust and patience. It’s embodies the ability to inspire and empower those who have committed to following your example.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Character (who you are when nobody is looking)

“Like” TIME and NXL II on Facebook
“Follow” on Twitter Time to Empower and NXL21Charlotte
http://www.timetoempower.com


 

PL- Brittany Yates

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year has been finding a grant writer who is adamant about assisting Endless Dreams Foundation, Inc. (EDF) with researching and applying for funding as well as a facility so that we will have the ability to run continuous programs for youth and families in the community.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My biggest challenge has been finding a balance between EDF and pursing a Master of Business Administration. Balancing these two things is difficult because they are important to me, and my future. I’ve overcome the challenge of balancing these two things by learning to use EDF’s Board of Directors to their full potential and prioritizing my school work so that I can get it complete prior to the due date.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
A leader is someone who has an influence on people, whether it is individually or in a group. A good leader is one who motivates and has a positive influence on others. Not all leaders are positive.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
There are many qualities that every leader should have but one of the most important quality a leader should possess is honesty. As a leader your goal is to get others to take guidance from you. If you are not honest with those who are following they will no be confident in you and the moral between the leader and follower will be low.

“Follow” on Twitter & Instagram @noend2dreaming
“Like” on Facebook at Endless Dreams Foundation, Inc.
www.endlessdreamsfoundation.org

One thought on “PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with the Entrepreneurs

  1. Pingback: PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with the Innovators |

Leave a Reply

