Education / Leadership / PHREAdom Leader

PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with Scholars

Discover Endless Possibilities

This year, I interviewed 12 young leaders for Always PHREA’s PHREAdom Leaders. As a way to commemorate one year of PHREAdom Leaders, I followed up with the young visionaries about their successes, challenges, and leadership. In this feature, I focus on the scholars – Jessica Ross, Ph. D. and Shantelle Igiozee who were also my first two PHREAdom Leaders. Enjoy!

PL- Jessica Ross

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year has been successfully defending my dissertation and earning my doctoral degree in molecular biology. A close second was losing almost 60lbs since September!

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
The biggest challenge was overcoming my own self doubt. I overcame this by finally listening to all the people around me who were telling me that I had it in me to finish.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
Being a leader means that you forge your own path and do things that aren’t necessarily the norm. It also means that you aren’t afraid to ask for help when necessary.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
Every leader should be good listeners. Often times we think of leaders and solitary entities, but they really aren’t. You become a good leader by listening to the input of others and utilizing their advice for advancement.


PL- Shantelle Igiozee

 

1) What was your biggest success this year?
My biggest success this year is completing my second semester of Physical Therapy School.

2) What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
My largest challenge is adapting to the pace and stress of the curriculum. So far, I have adapted very well by the grace of God.

3) What does it mean to be a leader?
Being a leader means having the ability to gain the trust and inspiring those that look up to you.

4) What is one quality that every leader should possess?
In order to be a leader, you must have the ability to be a good follower as well.

One thought on “PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with Scholars

  1. Pingback: PHREAdom Leader: One Year Later with the Innovators |

Leave a Reply

